• 0 Livres (books) - $0.00
    • Aucun produit dans le panier / No products in the cart

$12.99$25.99

All Our Hidden Gifts

Par / By Caroline O’Donoghue
Illustré par / Illustrated by Stefani Caponi

Book #1 de/of The Gifts

 

[FR] Les lectures de tarot étrangement astucieuses de Maeve font d’elle le sujet de conversation de l’école, jusqu’à ce qu’un camarade de classe tire une carte effrayante et inconnue, puis disparaisse.

 

[EN] Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of the school, until a classmate draws a chilling and unfamiliar card—and then disappears.

Effacer / Clear

Après que Maeve ait trouvé un paquet de cartes de tarot en nettoyant un placard pendant sa suspension de l’école, elle devient rapidement la devineresse la plus recherchée de l’école catholique de St Bernadette. Mais lorsque Lily, l’ex-meilleure amie de Maeve, tire une carte troublante appelée La Gouvernante, que Maeve n’a jamais vue auparavant, la séance se transforme en une violente dispute qui se termine par le souhait de Maeve de voir Lily disparaître. Lorsque Lily n’est pas à l’école le lundi suivant, Maeve apprend que son ex-ami a disparu sans laisser de trace.

Rejetée par ses camarades de classe et s’efforçant de préserver une romance naissante avec Roe, la sœur de Lily, Maeve doit creuser profondément son lien avec les cartes pour trouver des indices que la police ne peut trouver, même s’ils mènent à la terrifiante gouvernante elle-même. Située dans une ville irlandaise où l’emprise de l’église s’est relâchée et où de nouvelles libertés tentent de prendre racine, cette histoire très contemporaine est pleine d’esprit, captivante et teintée de mysticisme.

////

After Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet during her in-school suspension, she quickly becomes the most sought-after diviner at St. Bernadette’s Catholic school. But when Maeve’s ex–best friend, Lily, draws an unsettling card called The Housekeeper that Maeve has never seen before, the session devolves into a heated argument that ends with Maeve wishing aloud that Lily would disappear. When Lily isn’t at school the next Monday, Maeve learns her ex-friend has vanished without a trace.

Shunned by her classmates and struggling to preserve a fledgling romance with Lily’s gender-fluid sibling, Roe, Maeve must dig deep into her connection with the cards to search for clues the police cannot find—even if they lead to the terrifying Housekeeper herself. Set in an Irish town where the church’s tight hold has loosened and new freedoms are trying to take root, this sharply contemporary story is witty, gripping, and tinged with mysticism.

Poids ND
Dimensions ND

Auteur.rice / Author

CAROLINE O’DONOGHUE est l’auteur à succès du New York Times de All Our Hidden Gifts, son premier roman fantastique pour les jeunes, qui a été publié dans plus de vingt pays à travers le monde. Elle a écrit pour le Times et le Guardian, et est l’hôte d’un podcast primé, Sentimental Garbage. Elle est née en Irlande et vit à Londres. The Rachel Incident est son premier roman pour adultes à être publié aux États-Unis.

////

CAROLINE O’DONOGHUE is the New York Times bestselling author of All Our Hidden Gifts, her YA debut fantasy, which has been published in more than twenty territories around the world. She has written for The Times and The Guardian, and is the host of an award-winning podcast, Sentimental Garbage. She was born in Ireland and lives in London. The Rachel Incident is her first adult novel to be published in the US.

Media

“An immersive tale of brave, vulnerable teens facing threats both real and fantastic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Ghostly menace, queer liberation, and sweet nonbinary romance all find room in this modern Irish contemporary… O’Donoghue (Scenes of a Graphic Nature) infuses fierce integrity and an understanding of self-worth into a hilarious voice… the novel’s brilliant connections between friendship, boundaries, and the vulnerability of loneliness provide a vibrant compass for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan or Derry Girls.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“There’s an air of creepy mysticism to this uncommonly well-crafted urban fantasy, and O’Donoghue deftly weaves real-world and paranormal story aspects together.” —Booklist (starred review)

“The book’s ending leaves the door open for a sequel, and readers are sure to clamor for one… All Our Hidden Gifts is grounded and realistic, even when it’s got a foot in the supernatural, and it captures the complex, emotional nature of teen relationships with ease.” —BookPage (starred review)

“With a deft hand, O’Donoghue crafts a narrative that is steeped in both classic gothic atmosphere and contemporary representation… Stefanie Caponi’s tarot card illustrations are hauntingly perfect companions to the text. Much like the novel, the cards appear deceptively familiar at first glance. The stakes are high, the narrative is nuanced, and the climax and resolution are refreshingly unexpected. Expect readers to fall into this blurred tale of the normal and the paranormal.” —School Library Journal

“Fans of Derry Girls will immediately feel at home with these Irish Catholic schoolgirls who balance politics, religion, and adolescence with wry humor and sharp wit. While folkloric magic (it turns out, Maeve has more powers than just the ability to read tarot cards) is the central theme, O’Donoghue also weaves in elements of gender exploration, queer culture, and a nod to the evolving social climate in Ireland.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This atmospheric, witty, disarming tale is a page-turning dive into occult forces portrayed alongside teenage troubles… Impeccable dialogue and true-to-life characters make this a great choice for YA readers with a mystical bent.” —The Horn Book

“Maeve, the main character of this story, is conflicted. She is conflicted about the decisions she has made surrounding her friendships and conflicted about her place in society in general… The story is well written and engaging. It also provides a perspective on how religious individuals, and the Irish community specifically, are working through the changing global perspectives of gender and gender fluidity… This book is a recommended addition for high school readers interested in tarot, mysticism, and gender roles” —School Library Connection

“All Our Hidden Gifts is a magical surprise of a book, the perfect combination of heartfelt and thrilling, unpredictable and familiar. The startling and unique story lets us imagine and worry and love and reach for the truth right alongside Maeve. It is easy and exciting to get lost in this witchy, mysterious, and deeply layered story.” —Corey Ann Haydu, author of OCD Love Story and Ever Cursed

“An utterly seductive read, where the magical bleeds into the familiar.” —Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter

“Whether you come for the mystery, the magical hijinks, or the intense teenage feelings, All Our Hidden Gifts has a lot to offer. It takes friendship seriously and treats its queer and diverse characters with empathy and respect, all while frolicking off on a somewhat batty supernatural adventure.” —NPR

Avis

Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Soyez le premier à laisser votre avis sur “All Our Hidden Gifts”

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi / You may also like…

X