• 0 Livres (books) - $0.00
    • Aucun produit dans le panier / No products in the cart

$38.99

A Memory Called Empire

Par / By Arkady Martine

#1 Teixcalaan Series

 

[FR] Premier roman fascinant de space opera, A Memory Called Empire d’Arkady Martine est une aventure interstellaire mystérieuse.

 

[EN] A fascinating space opera debut novel, Arkady Martine’s A Memory Called Empire is an interstellar mystery adventure.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effacer / Clear
EAN: N/A ND , , , ,

L’ambassadrice Mahit Dzmare arrive au centre de l’empire multisystème de Teixcalaanli pour découvrir que son prédécesseur, l’ancien ambassadeur de leur petite station minière farouchement indépendante, est mort. Mais personne ne veut admettre que sa mort n’était pas un accident – ou que Mahit pourrait être la prochaine à mourir, en cette période d’instabilité politique dans les plus hautes sphères de la cour impériale.

Mahit doit maintenant découvrir qui est derrière le meurtre, se sauver elle-même et sauver sa station de l’expansion incessante de Teixcalaan, tout en naviguant dans une culture extraterrestre trop séduisante, en s’engageant dans ses propres intrigues et en cachant un secret technologique mortel – qui pourrait signifier la fin de sa station et de son mode de vie – ou la sauver de l’anéantissement.

////

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn’t an accident—or that Mahit might be next to die, during a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court.

Now, Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan’s unceasing expansion—all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret—one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life—or rescue it from annihilation.

Poids ND
Dimensions ND

Auteur.rice / Author

Arkady Martine (she/her) est l’autrice de A Memory Called Empire, récompensé par un prix Hugo. Elle est écrivaine de fiction spéculative et, sous le nom de Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, historienne de l’Empire byzantin et urbaniste. Elle est actuellement conseillère politique pour le département de l’énergie, des minéraux et des ressources naturelles du Nouveau-Mexique, où elle travaille sur l’atténuation du changement climatique, la modernisation du réseau énergétique et la planification de la résilience. Sous les deux noms, elle écrit sur les politiques frontalières, la rhétorique, la propagande et les confins du monde. Arkady a grandi à New York et, après quelques séjours en Turquie, au Canada, en Suède et à Baltimore, elle vit à Santa Fe avec sa femme, l’auteure Vivian Shaw.

////

Arkady Martine (she/her) is the Hugo Award-winning author of A Memory Called Empire. She is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. She is currently a policy advisor for the New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department, where she works on climate change mitigation, energy grid modernization, and resiliency planning. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, and Baltimore, lives in Santa Fe with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.

Media

“A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.”―The New York Times Book Review

“[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly away the planned sequels to this impressive debut.”―Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller.”―Library Journal, starred review

“This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can’t come quickly enough.”―Kirkus, starred review

“Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters”―The Los Angeles Times

“Interesting, detailed, lavish.”―The Wall Street Journal

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it.”―Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

“In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating.”―Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

“Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won’t-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome.”―Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

“An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down.”―Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

“Arkady is one of the best new voices in speculative fiction”―Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

“A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound.”―Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next.”―Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

“A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera.”―Ken MacLeod

A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry―clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife.”―Delilah Dawson

“An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive.”―Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

“A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years.”―Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

“An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov.”―Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It’s like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune.”―Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

Avis

Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Soyez le premier à laisser votre avis sur “A Memory Called Empire”

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi / You may also like…

X