• 0 Livres (books) - $0.00
    • Aucun produit dans le panier / No products in the cart

$37.99

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries

Book One of the Emily Wilde Series

Par / By Heather Fawcett

 

[FR] NATIONAL BESTSELLER – Un professeur bourru se rend dans une petite ville du Grand Nord pour étudier le folklore des fées et découvre la magie noire des fées, l’amitié et l’amour dans le début d’une nouvelle série fantastique réconfortante et enchanteresse.

 

[EN] NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A curmudgeonly professor journeys to a small town in the far north to study faerie folklore and discovers dark fae magic, friendship, and love in the start of a heartwarming and enchanting new fantasy series.

 

Effacer / Clear
EAN: N/A ND , , , , , ,

Emily Wilde, professeur à Cambridge, est douée pour beaucoup de choses : Elle est la plus grande experte dans l’étude des fées. C’est une érudite de génie et une chercheuse méticuleuse qui rédige la première encyclopédie au monde sur les fées. Mais Emily Wilde n’est pas douée pour les relations humaines. Elle n’a jamais pu faire la conversation lors d’une fête, ni même se faire inviter. Et elle préfère la compagnie de ses livres, de son chien, Shadow, et du peuple des fées à celle des autres.

Aussi, lorsqu’elle arrive dans le rude village de Hrafnsvik, Emily n’a pas l’intention de se lier d’amitié avec les habitants bourrus de la ville. Elle n’a pas non plus l’intention de passer du temps avec un autre nouvel arrivant : Wendell Bambleby, son rival académique, fringant et insupportablement beau, qui parvient à charmer les habitants, à embrouiller les recherches d’Emily et à la déconcerter et la frustrer complètement.

Mais alors qu’Emily est de plus en plus proche de découvrir les secrets des Cachés, les plus insaisissables de toutes les fées, qui se cachent dans l’ombre de la forêt à l’extérieur de la ville, elle se retrouve également sur la piste d’un autre mystère : Qui est Wendell Bambleby, et que veut-il vraiment ? Pour trouver la réponse, elle devra percer le plus grand des mystères, celui de son propre cœur.

////

Cambridge professor Emily Wilde is good at many things: She is the foremost expert on the study of faeries. She is a genius scholar and a meticulous researcher who is writing the world’s first encyclopaedia of faerie lore. But Emily Wilde is not good at people. She could never make small talk at a party—or even get invited to one. And she prefers the company of her books, her dog, Shadow, and the Fair Folk to other people.

So when she arrives in the hardscrabble village of Hrafnsvik, Emily has no intention of befriending the gruff townsfolk. Nor does she care to spend time with another new arrival: her dashing and insufferably handsome academic rival Wendell Bambleby, who manages to charm the townsfolk, muddle Emily’s research, and utterly confound and frustrate her.

But as Emily gets closer and closer to uncovering the secrets of the Hidden Ones—the most elusive of all faeries—lurking in the shadowy forest outside the town, she also finds herself on the trail of another mystery: Who is Wendell Bambleby, and what does he really want? To find the answer, she’ll have to unlock the greatest mystery of all—her own heart.

Poids ND
Dimensions ND

Auteur.rice / Author

Heather Fawcett est également l’auteur des romans de niveau intermédiaire The School Between Winter and Fairyland, The Language of Ghosts, et Ember and the Ice Dragons, ainsi que de la série pour jeunes adultes Even the Darkest Stars. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en littérature anglaise et a travaillé comme archéologue, photographe, rédactrice technique et assistante dans les coulisses d’un festival de théâtre shakespearien. Elle vit sur l’île de Vancouver, au Canada. Heather est disponible en ligne à l’adresse suivante : www.heatherfawcettbooks.com.

////

Heather Fawcett is also the author of the middle grade novels The School Between Winter and Fairyland, The Language of Ghosts, and Ember and the Ice Dragons as well as the young adult Even the Darkest Stars series. She has a master’s degree in English literature and has worked as an archaeologist, photographer, technical writer, and backstage assistant for a Shakespearean theater festival. She lives on Vancouver Island, Canada. Heather can be found online at www.heatherfawcettbooks.com.

Media

“Emily herself is delightful, brilliant but flawed, and often darkly funny. Her frustration with her feckless but charming colleague Wendell Bambleby is the perfect spark, and the romance is light but hits surprisingly hard when it chooses to.”The New York Times

“A book so vividly, endlessly enchanting . . . It pushed the real world aside in the way of all truly great fantasy novels, and I’m jealous of everyone who gets to read it for the first time.”—Melissa Albert, The New York Times bestselling author of the Hazel Wood series

“Forget dark academia: Give me instead this kind of winter-sunshined, sharp-tongued, and footnoted academia, full of field trips and grumpy romance and malevolent faeries. Emily Wilde is a narrator I won’t forget in a hurry, and this book was an invigorating balm for my heart and mind.”—Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

“A whimsical and enchanting romp that had me quite literally laughing out loud on every page. I enjoyed every word of this gorgeously written fairy tale featuring a grumpy heroine and an utterly charming love interest who constantly surprised me. A new favorite!”—Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries charmed me more than any faerie king ever could. Take an imaginative world that perfectly balances the mundane with the fantastical, add the pitch-perfect voice of an intelligent and endearingly unsociable heroine, throw in an indolent yet adorable academic rival with a hidden agenda, and you have the ideal book to curl up with on a chilly winter’s evening. This book is an absolute delight.”—Megan Bannen, author of The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

“Enchanting in every sense of the word, Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries is a delight of snow-laden forests and changelings, folklore and faerie kings, meticulous footnotes and academic rivalry and adventure. This book is real magic.”—H. G. Parry, author ofThe Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries is a charmingly whimsical delight, saturated with faerie magic and the equally wonderful magic of humanity. This is going to be one of my regular rereads. Five dazzling, gladdening stars.”—India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

“Fawcett grabs readers’ attention by drawing them into the folklore as well as the surrounding world. A great read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Erin Morgenstern.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“The full cast of characters, well-developed faerie lore, and pervasive sense of cold add depth to the delightful proceedings, which include scholarship, yes, but also danger and a hint of romance. Emily is an Amelia Peabody in snowshoes, and readers will be utterly charmed.”Booklist (starred review)

“Full of awe-inspiring shows of power and striking moments of humanity . . . Follow the lights into the woods and dance with the fae under Emily’s careful guidance—just be sure not to get carried away.”BookPage

Avis

Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Soyez le premier à laisser votre avis sur “Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries”

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi / You may also like…

X