• 0 Livres (books) - $0.00
    • Aucun produit dans le panier / No products in the cart

$21.99

A Lullaby for Witches

Par / By Hester Fox

 

[FR] Deux femmes. Une histoire de sorcellerie. Et un pouvoir féminin profondément enraciné qui traverse les siècles.

 

[EN] Two women. A history of witchcraft. And a deep-rooted female power that sings across the centuries.

 

 

 

 

 

Effacer / Clear
EAN: N/A ND , , , ,

Il était une fois une jeune femme issue d’une famille aisée de Nouvelle-Angleterre qui n’avait jamais trouvé sa place dans les salons de sa famille.

Appelée plutôt dans les bois enchevêtrés et les falaises sauvages qui entourent le domaine familial, Margaret Harlowe est devenue à la fois plus étrange et plus belle à mesure qu’elle cultivait son étrange pouvoir. Bientôt, des chuchotements de “sorcière” accompagnent ses pas, et le pouvoir de Margaret commence à s’enrouler aux vrilles de quelque chose de plus sombre.

Cent cinquante ans plus tard, Augusta Podos accepte un emploi de rêve à Harlowe House, la demeure historique d’une riche famille de Nouvelle-Angleterre transformée en petit musée à Tynemouth, dans le Massachusetts. Lorsqu’Augusta tombe sur une référence oblique à une fille des Harlowe qui a presque été effacée des archives historiques, le mystère est trop intrigant pour être ignoré.

Mais alors qu’elle creuse plus profondément, quelque chose de sinistre sort de son sommeil, un pouvoir obscur qui lie une femme à l’autre à travers les frontières du sang et du temps. Si Augusta ne peut résister à son attrait, tout ce qu’elle connaît et aime, y compris sa propre vie, pourrait être perdu à jamais.

////

Once there was a young woman from a well-to-do New England family who never quite fit with the drawing rooms and parlors of her kin.

Called instead to the tangled woods and wild cliffs surrounding her family’s estate, Margaret Harlowe grew both stranger and more beautiful as she cultivated her uncanny power. Soon, whispers of “witch” dogged her footsteps, and Margaret’s power began to wind itself with the tendrils of something darker.

One hundred and fifty years later, Augusta Podos takes a dream job at Harlowe House, the historic home of a wealthy New England family that has been turned into a small museum in Tynemouth, Massachusetts. When Augusta stumbles across an oblique reference to a daughter of the Harlowes who has nearly been expunged from the historical record, the mystery is too intriguing to ignore.

But as she digs deeper, something sinister unfurls from its sleep, a dark power that binds one woman to the other across lines of blood and time. If Augusta can’t resist its allure, everything she knows and loves—including her very life—could be lost forever.

Poids ND
Dimensions ND

Auteur.rice / Author

Hester Fox est écrivain et mère de famille à plein temps, avec une formation en muséologie et en archéologie historique. Transplantée en Nouvelle-Angleterre, elle vit aujourd’hui en Virginie rurale avec son mari et leurs deux enfants.

////

Hester Fox is a full-time writer and mother, with a background in museum work and historical archaeology. A New England transplant, she now lives in rural Virginia with her husband and their two children.

Media

 “Weaves a spell of darkness that’s mysterious and magical, and binds it with a knot of deathless love.”–New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley

“With expert pacing, Hester Fox peels back the layers of a mystery involving modern-day museum curator Augusta Podos and 19th century doomed witch Margaret Harlowe in this exquisite page-turner.  An atmospheric and heartbreaking tale of loss, dark magic and the power of love, this brilliant book will stay with you long after the last page.”–Constance Sayers, author of The Ladies of the Secret Circus

“A spine-tingling blend of paranormal and historical fiction that feels gothic, gloomy, and perfect for winter.”–BuzzFeed Books

“With unexpected twists aplenty, this is sure to keep fans of paranormal fantasies turning the pages. It’s a multilayered, haunting tale.”–Publishers Weekly

“Fox deftly navigates the overlapping borders of romance and the paranormal.”–Kirkus

“Engrossing.”–LibraryJournal

“A haunting story full of long-buried secrets…Fans of Louisa Morgan and Susanna Kearsley will want to pick this up.”–ShelfAwareness

“Both timelines are compelling and readers will enjoy this blend of paranormal, gothic horror, romance, and historical fiction.”–Booklist

Avis

Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Soyez le premier à laisser votre avis sur “A Lullaby for Witches”

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi / You may also like…

X